I Swore I Wouldn’t Do This

October 18, 2006

I already have a mommy blog. This one isn’t supposed to be to talk about mommy stuff. That’s what the other blog is for. Up until now, I’ve done a pretty decent job at avoiding anything more than the offhand mention of the offspring.

But today I’m going to break my own rule. I had a really sweet moment with PJ earlier. He had just finished nursing and for once was content to just sit in my lap for a few minutes, not attempting to crawl out of my lap or off the couch or grab the remote control or climb me. He just reclined against my arm and got comfortable. He may have been focused on the TV during that time, but at least he let me be his TV pillow.

I’m twice as glad that he was willing to just chill with me today because I’m seeing a definite turn toward weaning. I’m honestly surprised the nursing has lasted over a year, but PJ is clearly beginning to get tired of it. He sits and nurses for less and less time before getting distracted every day. Often I can redirect his interest back to eating once or twice after the squirming begins, but again that’s happening less and less often.

I’m not ashamed to admit that I hated breastfeeding at first. I hated that the full feeding responsibilities fell on me, especially in the middle of the night. I hated that my boobs weren’t my own, and I hated the feeling that they leaked all the time (they actually still do). Once I finally got used to all that, and when I had solid foods to help ease the feeding responsibilities off me some, nursing became easier. I still didn’t really like it, though; I just tolerated it.

Now that weaning is so close, though, I’m starting to realize just how much I’ve grown to like it. It is the only quiet bonding time I get with PJ any longer. I’m actually going to miss it when it’s over. It’s time, though. PJ is ready to take that next step towards independence, I think. At least now I see why so many women swear by it.