TV and Something Weird

Let’s start with the something weird. Remember how I stopped nursing almost a week before we found out we were pregnant, nearly six weeks ago now? My milk dried up just like it was supposed to, even though my boobs have just kept growing. Well, this morning when I showered, I noticed my left boob leaking something that was not shower water. After six weeks, my boobs are producing milk again. What?! Is it because I’m pregnant? Or have I just not been “dry” long enough yet? Personally, I’m blaming it on out-of-whack hormones. It’s weird either way.

Since I spend most of my day curled up on the couch in front of the TV, I have started developing strong opinions about all my favorite shows. I don’t normally do this, but after last night in particular, I thought I might share some of those opinions with everyone.

Last night first…if you don’t know what I’m talking about, it’s time to move out from that rock you’re living under. ***Spoilers*** They wouldn’t really kill off Meredith, right? I mean the show is called Grey’s Anatomy, after all. Izzy’s Anatomy just doesn’t have the same ring. My guess is that this brush with death convinces her of all the reasons she has to live, and by some miracle she’s saved. Something will be different about her, though (obviously). It will drastically change her relationships with her friends, and of course Derek (I refuse to call him McDreamy). For the record, I’m no huge fan of Meredith’s; she annoys the heck out of me (anybody else notice the irritating breath before every line in a dramatic dialogue?). She is far outclassed by all the other actresses on the show. But she’s crucial enough to the plotlines to not just do away with her. I can’t wait for next week.

American Idol: I’m probably a little late to post about this one, but I have a record with the show that I feel compelled to share. Maybe if I start my predictions now, I’ll be able to prove my accuracy once and for all. Ever since I started watching, I’ve predicted a winner by the time they hit the final twelve. My picks usually win, but haven’t come in farther than third ever. I picked Fantasia from her very first audition and never wavered in my choice. I’ll give you my final pick once we hit the final twelve (although I have some rough guesses now), but I predict from even this early stage that it will be another guy this year. They have both the talent and the personality. There’s one girl that might throw things a bit, but I still doubt she comes in higher than second. Stay tuned for specific picks.

Lost: Is anybody else still watching this show? Is it just me, or has the show lost its magic? I watch it because there’s nothing better on then and I usually don’t feel good enough to go do something else. Really, though, I could care less. Kill off Charlie; what do I care anymore? They could kill off the rest of the original cast and it wouldn’t bother me. The show has jumped the shark (that’s the right term, right?).

Kids’ TV: Because of going with the contingency plan most mornings this week, I’ve gotten more than my share of Nick, Jr. I use it to help distract PJ from the change in routine when I normally wouldn’t have the TV on at all in the mornings. We’re long-time fans of The Backyardigans, and my appreciation of the show has mounted this week as I’ve been forced to watch other kids’ shows. How do the rest of you parents stand such shows as Dora and Diego? I think I’ll go crazy if I hear, “Swiper, don’t swipe me” ever again. Moose playing with penguins and hippos are starting to feel realistic compared to these stupid shows. Sigh. The sacrifices I make for my son…

Leave a Reply

