The Best Birthday Present

Thank you for all the birthday wishes I’ve already gotten.  You’ll be glad to know I am feeling a bit better today.  I think whatever it was is on the fast track out of my system, thank goodness.  I just hope M or PJ doesn’t pick it up.

Last year was my first birthday as a wife and mother.  I remember how different the whole day felt to me.  The day wasn’t focused on me, but PJ still, just like every other day.  M did do one thing to make the day special, though, and I will never forget it.  When he finished work that evening, we went outside, me in my new birthday clothes, and he took pictures of me and PJ.  It was such a simple, last-minute type of present, but it has always been the most meaningful to me.  I can’t even remember what else I got last year.  This year, he agreed to do the same.  I put on a new dress my mom sent and put PJ in a non-clashing outfit, and we “posed” for pictures, as much as a nineteen-month-old ever will.  Here are the presents I will treasure the most from today:

a belly shot

just like Daddy

the sweetest picture ever

love this smile

this face cracks me up

4 Responses to The Best Birthday Present

  1. Emily says:

    Happy Birthday! I tried to look at your pictures, but it said I didn’t have permission. Not sure what I have to do….

  2. Emma says:

    Happy belated birthday! Love the pics!

  3. Kristin says:

    Happy belated birthday!
    (I suck because I’m a day behind on my blog commenting)

    The pictures are priceless!!!

  4. Lizzy says:

    Ah crap– my laptop’s been dead so I didn’t have a chance to login and wish you a HAPPY HAPPY!
    So, please take my belated best wishes.
    Besides, in my book, you get to celebrate yourself all month!

Leave a Reply

