In My Dreams

I remember the basic idea of a lot of the dreams I had when I was pregnant with PJ.  They were all about babies and giving birth, mostly.  I didn’t have the dreams as often as I’d thought I would, but at least the themes were pretty much the same when I could remember them.

Not so much this time.  I’ve had a few dreams about having BabyN or what life is like when he’s here (and one where he was older and I’d just had his twin baby sisters…yikes!).  The pervasive theme of the dreams this pregnancy, though, is teaching.  I had yet another teaching dream last night.  In this one, I’d gone back to teaching basically as I am right now–hugely pregnant and everything.  I was taking over what would be my classes after they’d had a series of subs since the beginning of school.  Naturally they were unruly and their progress was limited.  I dreamed of discipline issues, parent phone calls, and students wanting special treatment.  I dreamed about my fellow teachers, bringing in some of the more friendly ones I’ve worked with in the past.  Despite the issues with the students, the teaching experience itself was pretty good.

But then I dreamed I had a conference period, or lunch, or something where I had free time.  All I could think about was PJ.  I was so worried about how he was doing without me that I had to wake myself up from the dream and remind myself that we were both fine and he was in the next room.  It’s obvious that in my dreams all I wanted was to be at home with my son again, even though I was enjoying teaching.

I don’t know.  It may be in my future to teach once again, but my subconscious is telling me definitely not anytime soon.  Right now, I need to be at home taking care of my sons.  In the meantime, I just need to put up with the onslaught of teaching dreams.  Maybe they’re just keeping me open to that option so I won’t rebel against it in the future if I do need to go back to work.

One Response to In My Dreams

  1. basketball says:

    Good info. Lucky me I recently found your blog by chance (stumbleupon).

    I have saved as a favorite for later!

Leave a Reply

