False Alarm

Yesterday at about 1 in the afternoon, I started getting frequent Braxton-Hicks.  I kept a decent count for a few hours and was having between six and seven per hour.  That’s technically when I’m supposed to head to the hospital.  But they started tapering off later in the afternoon, so I sadly accepted that yesterday was not the day and tried to relax.

They picked back up shortly before M got home from work.  I started writing them down to make sure I was keeping a close track of what I was feeling.  An hour later, I’d had thirteen contractions.  They were normal Braxton-Hicks, though, not at all painful, so I decided to wait to go to the hospital until they were painful.  Each hour I kept track, they tapered off just a bit more.  Finally about 10:00, I figured they weren’t the start of labor and I gave up for the day.

BabyN is still comfortably inside my belly today–well, comfortable for him maybe, but not for me.  After all that excitement and counting contractions all afternoon, I was disappointed that nothing happened.  I figured it was too good to be true anyway.  The timing was too perfect.  No child is that cooperative from birth on.

By the way, if you’re thinking I should have gone to the hospital anyway since those are the doctor’s instructions, I still think I did the right thing by staying home.  The main point of going so early, when I’m unsure whether it’s labor, would be to prevent me from progressing any further in the labor.  In other words, several weeks ago when they were afraid I would go into pre-term labor, they would want me there as soon as possible to stop the labor before BabyN made an appearance.  Now they would go ahead and let me deliver, so there’s no point going as early.  If I’d called, I would probably have been told to labor at home a while longer anyway.  It’s a complete change in perspective.

Since I truly am right at the end now, and labor can happen at any time, I’ll try to make a real effort to blog a little something every day just so you guys will be able to guess what has happened if I don’t blog for a whole day.  Barring any technical difficulties, I’ll be here every day until I go to the hospital.  Even then, with any luck they’ll have a wireless network.  I may be checking your blogs during labor. 🙂  I might not live-blog my labor (hehe), but I’ll try to let you know it’s happened as soon after as I can.  If you’re at all like I am, it will drive you crazy if I just disappear for a few days, even if you think you know what happened.

2 Responses to False Alarm

  1. erica says:

    I think you did the right thing. It sounds like they are trying to make something happen. Maybe you are starting to change. Good luck

  2. liz says:

    I remember the 12 hours of false labor I had with Henry. We were SO EXCITED! And then…then they tapered off into nothing. So I understand the feeling of disappointment. But the day will come, soon enough!
    I also remember how freakin’ uncomfortable the final days/weeks of pregnancy were. I used to call my mom crying from the pain of having the baby with his foot jammed squarely in my pancreas or his knee in my ribs. Ugh. But it’ll all be over soon. Try to relax and enjoy the last moments when BabyN is all yours.
    I’ll be checking back daily for updates!

Leave a Reply

