Weirdest Pregnancy Symptom Ever

Thanks for all your stories in yesterday’s comments.  I felt bad asking you guys to share such personal stuff, but I’m grateful you did anyway.  I’m pretty sure now that I haven’t lost my mucous plug, because I think I would have noticed that.  Of course, I do potty in the dark and without my glasses during all those nightly trips, so if it happened then, it may have slipped past me.  But I still think I would have noticed.

I’m also less worried about my water breaking in public or at the house.  It sounds like it’s not too likely to happen before I’m at the hospital, and if it does, it will probably be as I’m standing up, which will be more like peeing than a huge gush.  I hope I’m lucky enough to have it happen in the shower if it can’t wait for us to get to the hospital.  At least if that happened, I would be a lot less likely to question whether it was really time to go to the hospital.

By the way, M is now saying he thinks I’m going to go super close to my due date.  He better be wrong.  I think Saturday would be cool; then his birthday would be 9/8/07.  Cool, huh?  As long as it’s not 9/11, though, I’ll be happy.

Wanna hear the weirdest pregnancy symptom yet?  Okay, a little history first… When I was in junior high, my family moved near the end of my 7th grade year.  I went from a school that didn’t require P.E. all three junior high years (I chose 7th grade as my break) to one that did.  I was suddenly thrown into an active lifestyle again after many months off.  If you haven’t already figured it out, I’m not a particularly athletic person (read: clumsy and fragile).  Just a few days after my re-introduction to P.E., we all played softball.  For once I got a hit and ran to first base–twice in one game.  Unfortunately, the second time it happened, I twisted my ankle badly before I could make it to the base.  (Not that it mattered; I got out anyway.)  As the ankle twists have happened regularly my whole life anytime I run much, I didn’t worry about it, assuming I’d limp off the pain.  No such luck.

About two weeks later, my mom finally took me to the doctor for the ankle.  They decided it was a bad sprain but didn’t do anything to help it heal.  I only even got out of a day or two of P.E. for it.  I’m pretty sure that’s why it has bothered me on and off ever since.  Any time I have had to be on my feet more than usual, the ankle has started hurting again, to the point where regular over-the-counter medications can’t even touch the pain.  But the weirdest long-lasting effect has been my sensitivity to weather.  I started noticing in high school that there was a pattern between random ankle pain (not related to activity) and when it rained.  It seemed like about twelve hours before a storm would hit, my ankle would hurt.  Even on vacation, when we’d be somewhere else entirely the next day (or twelve hours later), I could predict a storm that we would be in twelve hours later.  Nobody believed me when I’d tell them these stories, though.

It’s been years now since my ankle has bothered me much.  I’m not on my feet much at all, and I’m certainly not doing much athletic activity.  Rarely ever does even the weather affect my ankle.  But the other day I started complaining to M about it hurting.  Sure enough, twelve hours later a random storm hit us.  Suddenly M believed the stories I’ve been telling him.  I’m not sure why all of a sudden my ankle pain is back now, but all I can guess is that the pregnancy somehow caused it.  Pretty weird, huh?

One Response to Weirdest Pregnancy Symptom Ever

  1. Becca says:

    This isn’t pregnancy related, but I broke my nose twice in high school, and now I can tell almost every time it is going to rain because I get headaches. I think it has something to do with the pressure in the air???

Leave a Reply

