Since You Asked

I was going to stick to my guns and not post anything about the appointment today since there really isn’t much to say, but it looks like several of you are checking after all.  I’ll keep this short, though, with just the basic facts so I don’t bore anyone with a second post today.

All my stats are still great.  Even now, everyone is surprised at my great blood pressure and steady weight.  BabyN’s heartrate is perfect as well.  I’m healthy as a horse, even with this huge protuberance on my abdomen.  Unfortunately, I’m also still completely closed up.  I was hoping for some progress today, especially after last night’s experience, but that’s clearly not the case.  Not that that means much, though.  Many a woman has gone into labor soon after being told that her cervix was closed.

The only really interesting part of the appointment came when I told the nurse-practitioner (my doctor was busy) about how I felt last night.  She right away corrected me when I called them Braxton-Hicks; the cramping along with them makes them real contractions.  My contractions are just sporadic enough to not help me progress at all yet.  She also gave me suggestions to help with the back pain that also may help my body go into labor if it’s ready.  By the time I left, I was glad my doctor had been busy because I got more personal attention and advice from the nurse-practitioner than I’ve ever gotten from my doctor.

My doctor goes out of town this weekend and will be gone all next week.  I wonder who ends up delivering BabyN when I go into labor one of those days that she’s gone, because you know that’s when it will happen.  Part of me hopes it ends up being the nurse-practitioner and not the other doctor in the practice.

2 Responses to Since You Asked

  1. Erin says:

    When I went into labor I was only barely open! The week before my dr. could only get her fingertip halfway in…that is, the bottom part of my cervix had started to open but the top part, the part closest to the baby, was still closed tight. Finally when I went into labor I was 1 cm dilated. Then I’ve also heard of women being dilated to 3 cm for WEEKS before going into labor! I know when I got down to those last few weeks though every week I would want so badly to be told I was dilating…it feels like progress, you know??

  2. Emily says:

    Sounds like things are going well. I know it’s hard to be patient, but he will come only when he’s ready. Don’t be too anxious…..I bet you’ll miss that baby belly (if not just a little bit) once he’s here!

Leave a Reply

