Another Pregnant Monday

I can’t believe I’m still here, still pregnant.  The days seem to pass more and more slowly the longer I have to wait.  Although I’m only officially 38 weeks today, it’s more likely I’m about 39 weeks.  Did any of you suspect I’d make it this far?  I know I certainly didn’t.

On the bright side, I think it’s possible I’m starting to lose my mucous plug, although very slowly if that’s possible.  I’m too grossed out by the idea to give any details, but I’m letting myself get my hopes up because I’m eager for a sign of progress, any sign at all.  I go to the doctor again tomorrow, so maybe I’ll get some good news then.

I think sometimes the thought that I really could pop anytime hasn’t quite sunk in.  I spent the day yesterday across town hanging out with a friend.  I was a full hour away from home.  That sounds awfully reckless to me now, but it didn’t feel like a big deal at the time.  I felt kind of bad for my perpetually single, innocent friend when I had one bad contraction and had to explain that although it was a contraction, it didn’t mean I was in labor.  Poor thing, thinking I’d be delivering a baby in her living room.

M and I both had a gut feeling that last night might just be IT.  Obviously we were wrong, but we made a few last preparations, just in case.  One of those preparations was to take last belly pictures.  It helped that I’d bothered with make-up and jewelry yesterday for the first time in ages, so we figured we should take advantage of the opportunity to take better pictures.  I still think I look pretty hideous, but you’re mostly looking at the belly anyway, right?

Side shot

Front shot

Close-up of stretch marks

And a bonus picture of PJ

Remember that if you can’t see the pictures, just e-mail me (the address is on the right) with your flickr account name, and I’ll add you as one of my friends.  As long as you’re logged into flickr under that account, you’ll be able to see the pictures.

4 Responses to Another Pregnant Monday

  1. erica says:

    I think you look great.. I honestly can’t believe you have made it this far. Thank God you will bring home a healthy baby without a NICU experience as long as everything goes alright. Take care of yourself. And keep us updated.

  2. Lizzy says:

    Rest up!

    I thought for sure you were going in to labor last week.

    I wonder if you’ll go past your due date? How’s THAT for a horrifying thought? YIKES!

    Your shots are great…glowing straight through to the end. I saw your 33 week pictures, how much BabyN has grown!

  3. Chas says:

    If you make it until tomorrow, then you will surpassed me…as in, Lila was born at 38 weeks exactly. I won’t be able to relate to anything past this point. It could really happen any time. That baby is going to be healthy, no worries, no NICU stay….that is just such a blessing!!

  4. Erin says:

    You look great!!

Leave a Reply

