First Day of my New Job *Updated*

They want me to go to the ER.  I called my doctor this morning about the tailbone thing, and since my doc is super busy until next Thursday, they think I should go to the ER as soon as possible.  How exactly am I supposed to do that when I am the sole caretaker for a hyper toddler and a needy baby, and I’m not even supposed to drive?

Other than that, things as a mom of two are going pretty well so far.  PJ woke up in the middle of the night when he heard his brother fussing, so he was extra sleepy today; he let me sleep until 10!  BabyN had a rough time falling asleep, so we co-slept until he woke up for his 4:00 feeding, and the rest of the night went well again.  We’ll just ignore the breakdown I had until giving up and letting us co-sleep.  It was nice waking up after enough sleep to start the day, though.

So I guess I’m cautiously optimistic about how the day will go.  I’m still scared of doing all this on my own with a sore bottom, but I’ve been through worse–at least with one kid.  (Can we say morning sickness?)  I just have to remember that all hell can break loose at any moment.  And until that has happened at least once, I won’t be able to prove to myself that I can handle even that.

Update: Good grief.  What a morning all around.  In addition to the suggestion that I somehow work out a trip to the ER, M stumbled across some things at work that bring up some ethical issues.  We really have no idea what is right in that situation, and he could end up in either major trouble at work or with the law depending on which decision he makes.  On the bright side, my doctor actually heard about the tailbone issue (instead of just her nurse who was the one giving advice the first time around), and she suspects I might have–gasp!–fractured my tailbone.  Huh.  I wonder why I didn’t think of that.  (Hope you’re not missing the sarcasm here.)  She wants me to keep taking the ibuprofen, even after I specifically said the problem was I couldn’t keep it down, with or without food, regardless of the dose size.  It looks like they will also be calling in an even stronger pain medicine for me, which will probably make me drowsy.  Great.  Just as I’m getting caught up on the newborn sleeplessness, now I get to take medicine to make me feel like that again.  And now I get to feel that way while trying to take care of two needy kids.  At least it won’t hurt to walk–if I’m not sleeping all day.

Okay, I typically avoid the topic of religion on here because of all the controversy surrounding it, but everything that is going on here all of a sudden brings the topic to the forefront.  We feel like we’re being attacked from all directions right now, when our defenses are at their weakest.  There have been any number of stupid nuisances in the last week or so (from cable to electric bills to the health issues to the stuff at M’s work), and each one is chipping away just a bit more at our patience.  We’re in a wary what-comes-next attitude that is making us cynical about everything.  We’re terrified our marriage is going to be attacked next, and neither of us wants to test just how strong it really is.  We could really use any and all prayers from any of you who are the praying type.

4 Responses to First Day of my New Job *Updated*

  1. erica says:

    Believe me you can do it… Its not easy but you adjust. I can remember how scared I was the first couple of times going to the grocery store by myself with a 2 year old and newborn…It gets easier.. I hope you get to feeling better soon….

  2. Becca says:

    I really hope you can get some relief from the butt problem. I can’t remember what they had me on, maybe just Percocet but I don’t remember getting nauseaus, but I remember being really tired which made it hard. The sad thing is, even if it is fractured there’s not a whole lot they can do. I even tried sitting on a donut pillow and it didn’t work. I can only imagine how difficult it is trying to chase around a toddler, take care of a newborn AND deal with the pain! Take care of yourself!

  3. erica says:

    Will keep praying that everything works out…Take care. Hope your butt starts feeling better..

  4. Erin says:

    I’ll be thinking about you all! Hopefully everything will smooth over soon. About the butt issue…towards the end of my pregnancy with Hailey all of a sudden my tailbone started killing me, to the point where every time I sat down/stood up/laid down/bent over etc. etc. I got a piercing pain. After I had her it continued for a while, and I couldn’t sit up to feed her or anything. But not too long after it went away. I think I had bruised mine. Hopefully yours will heal soon, and I hope everything else starts to get better for you as well!

Leave a Reply

