Too Chicken to Try

Last year, I signed up for NaBloPoMo the second I heard about it.  You guys have seen my blogging habits.  I typically blog every day.  It made perfect sense to sign up to do something I do anyway.  I ended up finding a few new regular readers–and blogs to read–out of the deal.

As a result, I’ve been looking forward to the event all year long.  Yet I find myself hesitating to put my name on the list this year.  While I can remember the pride I felt when achieving my goal at the end of the month, I also remember the difficulties I had reaching that goal.  I had a really tough time sneaking off to blog over the Thanksgiving holiday at my parents’ full house.  None of them knew about this blog, so I couldn’t just pull out the computer and write something in public.  I also didn’t want to leave the festivities to be by myself during the day, and most of the week’s entries happened just barely before midnight when I was exhausted from the day and eager to get to bed.

This year would be just as bad, if not worse.  I can’t guarantee we’ll have a space to call our own at my parents’ house, thanks to the three extra family members coming this year (the new babies).  I also expect to have a few nights like last night, where I was lucky to get a full four hours of sleep.  When that happens, I’m so exhausted by bedtime the next day that even getting ready for bed seems overwhelming to me, much less adding in the duty to blog as well.  I highly suspect I would give up on NaBloPoMo right there at the end of the month.

So I’m not planning to sign up this year, as much as I’d like to.  But it’s not as much because I’m afraid I wouldn’t make it all month.  I don’t like failing at something, but that doesn’t mean I don’t try anyway (otherwise I wouldn’t have kids!).  Really, I don’t want to feel the pressure from the commitment.  I don’t want to go to bed exhausted during Thanksgiving week and still feel like I absolutely must blog as well.  And do it all before midnight if I’d rather stay up later one night.

I guess that means I’m unofficially part of NaBloPoMo.  I plan to attempt to blog every day, but I’m not going feel bad if I just don’t feel up to it one day.  So I guess that means nothing is changing.  What a long way to say that!

By the way, happy Halloween!  I’ll probably link you to some cute Halloween pictures of the boys tomorrow.  Check back for those.

2 Responses to Too Chicken to Try

  1. Chas says:

    I think I’ll probably go the unofficial route myself. I haven’t ever signed up before, just b/c I know I’m not good enough to make it…plus, putting my name out there makes me feel like someone I know will find me easier.

  2. Emily says:

    I’m in the exact same boat. Don’t want to say I’m gonna do something that I very likely will fail….but may as well give it a shot! So…here’s to us…unofficial Nablopomo-ers.

Leave a Reply

