Toddler-itis

I think I may have determined what has been jacking with my mood over the last few days.  It’s a fairly common disease known as toddler-itis.  I was able to correctly diagnose myself when I woke up to find that M had contracted the same symptoms this morning after dealing with PJ for two hours by himself.  Both of our symptoms of frustration and exhaustion and a feeling of utter futility only escalated through the morning as we attempted to do a little cleaning.  We found ourselves in need of a long recovery period after all the “help” we received.  Between making himself a nuisance, delaying the cleaning itself, and undoing everything we did seconds after we finished, we were at our wit’s end.

On the bright side, M now understands why I’ve been kind of cranky lately.  He also understands why I rarely do much cleaning.  We really can’t clean much with PJ underfoot, so naptime is the only time to do anything.  And with BabyN crying through all of PJ’s naptime these days, nothing gets done.  Besides, what’s the point of repeatedly cleaning something that’s going to end up dirty again just minutes later?  There simply is no keeping up with housework around here.

4 Responses to Toddler-itis

  1. erica says:

    Yep it is definately hard when they start into that stage.The way I get stuff done is to give Braidi is own little chore.For example,when I dust Braidi gets a rag and I set him up with a few of his toys and he gets to dust them.When I sweep he follows me with his and he gets what mommy can’t get.Believe me thats the only way I get anything done.Some days its hard because you only have so much time to get things done and it gets frustrating.Hope it gets better.

  2. emmakirsten says:

    Yah it certainly is hard, I am constantly chasing Ava around the house when it’s just us home, with the other 3 kids I totally give up!

  3. emmakirsten says:

    Ok, as I was reading your past entries I stumbled across your post about getting a Wii. I thought I’d put the comment here since it’s back some and you may not see it.

    Is it any good? I just got my kids one for Christmas, (i love video games so this is totally something I think I’ll like) My oldest tells me that “smooth moves” is a good game and i hear mario party 8 is pretty good.

  4. Kristin says:

    This is my biggest complaint about cleaning…what is the point if it goes to pot 30 minutes later!? I’ve given up & realized that it’s true. There is no keeping up with the housework when you have a toddler.

Leave a Reply

