Things Green

I am fully aware that this post will seem as though it’s coming out of left field.  I am not a political blogger by any means and tend to avoid topics that could possibly cause conflict.  Yet today I’m setting myself up for that conflict I work so hard to avoid.  I am going to broach a political topic.

Fortunately, it’s not quite as hot-button a topic as abortion or gay marriage or anything like that (although I do have my opinions there).  Instead, it’s the whole environmentally-friendly fad that’s going around.  It’s been on my mind a lot lately, what with the media shoving it down our throats and TV show after TV show having special “green” episodes.

As you may have already gathered, I don’t buy into it.  The more I hear about how our earth is going to hell in a handbasket, the more I roll my eyes.  Each timeline of doom that we’re given, warning us that our days are even more limited than we’d thought, is more ridiculous than the last.  I absolutely believe global warming is a myth.  And Al Gore’s Nobel Prize?  Don’t even get me started.

I sigh when I hear people discussing ways to save the earth.  Buying a hybrid car will not save the earth, nor will using paper bags instead of plastic–or vice versa.  Changing that thermostat to save energy or reusing your bath water one time will barely make a difference.  Yes, if every person were to make that same change, perhaps it might make a noticeable difference, but that will never happen.  There are too many people like me out there who would rather live the life of a consumer than a responsible earth-saving citizen.

Funny, though.  If you were to look at our family’s habits, you would find very little to criticize.  Yes, I use disposable diapers instead of cloth (I have a real problem with poop), and perhaps we don’t always turn off lights when we leave the room (although we usually do).  But we are not wasteful people.  We don’t leave the water on when we brush our teeth or run the air conditioner or heater excessively.  Every one of the light bulbs in the house is fluorescent.  We are not the evil, wasteful consumer that the media has drawn such a clear picture of.

The difference is that we are responsible about our money.  Wasting water and electricity costs us money.  We’re not going to buy a hybrid yet because they are not yet cost-effective, but when they are we will look into it.  If it happens to save the earth as well, great.

I wonder what will happen when the “green” fad passes the way of the pet rock.  When scientists finally prove definitively that global warming is a farce and the earth is not a ticking time bomb, will the media stop shoving environmental friendliness down our throats?  And at the same time, will they stop finding ways to save us money on energy?  Because as much as the fad annoys me, I’m willing to put up with it if it means saving me a few bucks.

7 Responses to Things Green

  1. heatherflaugh says:

    We dont have green thumbs, and like you what we do, we do to save money. We are in the process of changing our light bulbs to save some money. I think the only thing we do “green” is recycle and we’re not even very good at it. I dont know if it helps or not, its just something that was passed on. Whether or not that will help save the world I dont know.

  2. Erin says:

    I do buy into all the hype, with global warming and all that jazz, because there is scientific evidence to back it up. The earth is getting warmer and warmer every year, the suns rays are getting more and more damaging because of the depletion of the ozone, blah blah blah. I’ve always been very environmentally conscious though. But like you, the things I do I mostly do to save money. We do recycle, however.

  3. sugarandice says:

    Well, I couldn’t disagree with you more. I don’t want to argue, but since you gave your opinion, I guess you were expecting some of us to give ours. I am not an Al Gore fan, and I refused to watch his documentary because I know it’s probably full of twisted statistics and information that probably isn’t exactly what it seems. But, the more people that live on this planet, the more trash there is, and I don’t see how anyone can argue that doing certain things can only sustain our planet. Recycling is very important, and I think anyone that tries to claim that it is worthless is just a lazy person that doesn’t want to bother with it (my parents are included in that). I’m not saying that you’re against recycling, as you didn’t mention it in your post, but I’m just saying that some people do think that way. As far as global warming, there is a lot of evidence to back it up. There are a lot of very smart, educated people that have done a great deal of research that show that it is real. Not being a scientist myself and not being in a position to do any real research myself, I really can’t say that they’re wrong. Maybe they are, maybe they’re not, but I don’t think that any of the things that we can do to prevent global warming are going to hurt anything, and since they MIGHT help, then why not? I just don’t like to hear the attitude that no one else is going to bother, so why should I.

  4. Kayce says:

    I can’t believe I forgot to mention recycling. Whether or not it saves the earth, it makes sense to me to recycle. That’s just being responsible. And while I don’t collect cans, plastic, etc, and take it to a recycling center (our area is very bad for recycling), we aren’t wasteful about our trash, finding ways to reuse as much as possible. If actual recycling were more readily available, I would definitely do that.

    While scientists have supposedly proven global warming, I still doubt that it really exists–or if it does, that it’s not the imminent danger we’ve been led to believe.

    And I guess I wasn’t very clear about my point. I don’t buy into the fad, but that doesn’t mean I don’t do what I can to protect the earth. I just do what I can to save money, and if it happens to be environmentally friendly too, then awesome. I’m just not going to go to any great lengths to save the earth without another purpose behind it.

  5. Hoping says:

    I think it is socially irresponsible to ignore obvious facts about the shape our Earth is currently in, the Earth our babies have to live in when we are gone. As far as you thinking that global warming doesn’t exist? I can hardly pick my jaw up off the desk.

    Although I do fear that Al Gore is a bit more politically driven than anything I still think the hard work and dedication that went into the documentary and his other work is still something to be said.

    You just can’t ignore obvious facts Kayce.

  6. Whitney says:

    I believe that it is absolutely ridiculous to go around with such a flippant attitude about this. I do not believe that our earth is going to go up in flames in the next ten years or anything but I do believe that there is no denying global warming. No, not just one person recycling or switching to paper instead of plastic is going to single-handedly save the planet but the point is to set an example. Be a role model. Maybe if one person sees you do, they’ll make the conscious effort to switch as well. I do my best to recycle, use paper bags and anything else that gives the world a fighting chance for my daughter to grow up in. I would think you, as a parent, would feel the same way.

  7. Emma says:

    I guess I would say that everything starts with one person. It was one small group of people who decided to start recycling in my city and now Edmonton has one of the best recycling programs in all of North America, with the highest rate of users. I do think that there is fear mongering involved, but there is most things that people want us to take seriously.

    But Al Gore getting a Nobel PEACE prize for his work with the enviornment? I so don’t get that. Science, sure. Peace no.

Leave a Reply

