Moving On

Obviously I’m not going to change anyone’s opinion, and you’re not going to change mine.  So I’m just going to leave things as they are and stop opening myself up to conflict on this subject.  I’m regretting posting anything political at all now because apparently I can’t take it.  (That’s a jab at myself, by the way, not any of you.  As I said yesterday, you are entitled to your opinions, even if it is that I’m irresponsible or a kook.)

So…moving on.  I’m afraid I may step on some toes here as well, but I kind of think I won’t.  That’s the only reason I would dare go ahead and post this.  I’m just saying what so many of us would normally not say.  It’s about one of BabyN’s cousins. 

His younger cousin by all of ten days is not exactly the prettiest baby.  I know all babies are supposed to be cute, but I think it’s safe to say that that simply isn’t always the case.  This baby is cute because she is a baby, but she has the most unfortunate nose.  It looks awkward on her at this age–at least in pictures–and it makes me feel kind of sorry for her.  I’m sure she will look beautiful as she grows into that nose, but until then, I’m going to have to put on my best fake smile when I coo over her–which I will do because I would never tell someone their baby isn’t the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

I just hope I’m not being hypocritical.  I happen to think BabyN is one of the two cutest babies I’ve ever seen (PJ being the other, obviously), but I’m fully aware I have a mother’s bias.  That’s the reason I’ve hesitated to even admit to myself that my niece doesn’t quite live up to the Gerber baby image.  I would hate to say that while holding an ugly baby of my own!

So what do you think?  Are there babies out there that are unattractive?  I think they are few and far between, and all babies have cuteness in them, even if you have to look past the unfortunate nose, but there are some that you have to look a little harder to find that cute.  Um, just please don’t tell me if that’s the case with my little one.  I’d rather keep looking at him through these rose-colored glasses.

3 Responses to Moving On

  1. erica says:

    I agree that some people just don’t have cute babies. It just happens.Babies change their looks so often so maybe once she has a chance to grow a little bit more she will turn into a cute baby after all.

  2. Emma says:

    Oh there are ugly babies. A friend of mine has a daughter with the tiniest pinched nose and a great big chubby face that practically hides the nose. She is probably the ugliest baby I’ve ever seen. And I feel guilty saying that.

    My doctor actually told a patient at the 6 week check up that her baby was the ugliest she had ever seen…imagine being that poor woman.

  3. Erin says:

    Oh heck when Hailey was in her younger months I’d look at her sometimes and be like “ok is she homely??” She was an adorable newborn, but then she went through this awkward phase and of course now I think she’s the cutest thing that ever walked the earth. She’s also not very photogenic! Not saying I think my daughter is ugly of course…but yes, there are less than absolutely beautiful babies out there :o)

Leave a Reply

