More Than You Wanted to Know About my Doctor’s Appointment

So the whole procedure yesterday turned out to be a bit easier than I expected.  The kids were on the verge of a meltdown because of how long they’d had me wait, but it seems that the nurses there love me.  Okay, to be completely honest, they love my kids.  One nurse snuck in right before everything started to steal BabyN and show him around the office.  I was relieved, and she was thrilled.  It couldn’t have worked out better.  PJ was getting annoying, too, and would have loved to go socializing, but he was okay staying because he got to entertain the doctor and everyone there doing what they needed to on me.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I really like the nurse-practitioner there.  She’s actually just a student, but a very knowledgeable one.  Any time after the first time I saw her, if they asked whether I was okay with her, I jumped at the opportunity.  She’s sweet, thorough, and frankly more gentle than any doctor I’ve ever seen.  I seriously couldn’t even feel when she did my pap smear at the last appointment.  So when a nurse came in and asked whether I’d be okay letting Amy place my IUD, I was actually relieved.  I was assured the doctor would be there too, just in case, but I was glad I would have Amy’s gentle hands taking care of me.

I should have been a little more hesitant when she verified again when she got in the room that I was okay with her doing the procedure.  I figured out based on the conversation between her and the doctor while I was in that awkward position that she had never, ever placed an IUD before.  Thank goodness everything went fine.  It probably took longer than it should have, but it’s not like I can verify that.  And the best part is that, as usual, she was exceedingly gentle.  I only felt the odd twinge or two and no real pain from the actual insertion.

Naturally I’m pretty crampy now and have been since I was lying on that table.  But even that’s not as bad as I was warned.  It’s uncomfortable but not nearly as much so as every period I’ve had since I turned 13 (yes, I was that old when I started).

I guess the funniest part about the whole thing happened when I mentioned to my mom what I’d done yesterday morning.  She immediately took that “Do you really think that’s the best idea?” tone.  She even asked what my doctor thought about it.  Well, since she’s the one who recommended I think about it, I guess she thinks it’s a good idea.  My mom was apparently remembering IUD’s from when she was looking into birth control options twenty-plus years ago.  I suspect they weren’t quite as safe back then.  It’s funny that how open-minded my mom is, this was something she didn’t agree with.  Of course, I should have expected as much; she would get very worried every time I mentioned taking medicine while pregnant, even if it was something the doctor had prescribed.  I hope I’m not as resistant to accepting that things change over the course of twenty years.

Leave a Reply

