Because You Know My Love of Lists

Although I could probably ramble on about BabyN finally sleeping through the night or my toddler driving me crazy–or how my husband’s boss delivered his third daughter on his kitchen floor last night–I’m actually going to do one of these memes I keep getting tagged for.  For the record, I love getting tagged for memes and I love doing memes.  But I get lazy when it comes to all the copying, pasting, and linking, and I give up on doing a meme until so much time has passed that it’s embarassing to go back and do it.  So Kristin, feel flattered that I’m getting around to this meme before the turn of the next century. 

Rules:

1. Link to the person that tagged you and post the rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 random or weird things about yourself.
3. Tag 7 random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.
4. Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

Seven random/weird things about me:

1. When I smile at you, you’re not looking at any real teeth.  I come from some stellar genetics that don’t necessarily guarantee all the adult teeth developing.  I was missing the two top teeth just off from the middle and the bottom two middle ones.  They simply never existed.  I now have two bridges on the top and one on the bottom to compensate for the missing teeth.  So when I smile, you’re either seeing the caps on the real teeth or fake teeth filling in the gaps.

2. I have some weird fears.  The first is fire.  I have never lit a match, worry at night about the house burning down, and never even used a lighter until college and then only sparingly.  I also hate hot things, like the oven and stove.  Thank goodness I have an understanding husband who does most of the cooking because he knows I can barely handle it.  The second is train tracks.  When people stop their cars on the tracks, I nearly panic that a train will come and hit them.  And God protect the soul of anyone who stops on the tracks when I’m in the car.  The third is sharp things like knives.  I have better control over this fear, but I cut things very rarely because of it.

3. When I was young, I had this feeling that I was going to grow up to marry a minister (preacher, pastor, whatever you want to call him).  That’s why I focused so much on the young men in the Bible department of the college I attended.  It seems I was wrong, though, because M is not exactly the minister type.

4. I have always wanted to be a superlative person–the best at something, or if that can’t happen, then the worst.  I wanted the longest hair or to be the shortest person around when I was younger.  I wanted to be the smartest in high school and college.  I don’t know what it is now, but I still hate to be topped by anyone in any area (smarter kids, longer or shorter labor, bigger kids, smaller kids, you name it).

5. I have always had a good memory for things grammar-related.  I was proofreading the books I read by the time I hit junior high, and it still bothers me to see glaring spelling or grammatical errors in the things I read.  I know I’m anything but perfect in what I write (chalk it up to too much time out of an English classroom), but when I make choices to write using incorrect grammar, it almost hurts.

6. I have an obsession with numbers and patterns, and especially patterns with numbers.  I look for those patterns in phone numbers, times on the clock, dates, anything with several numbers in it.  I get overly excited when I find a cool pattern in something commonplace.  Oh, and did I mention I’m a total nerd?

7. I’m anal about some things and could care less about others.  For example, I am so careful about how I keep my closet, with all my shirts in one place, arranged by color in a mostly rainbow order.  Pants are somewhere else, skirts in another place, etc.  But I have never once cleaned our tub in this house.  (M has a few times, but not as often as it should probably be cleaned.)  I can’t stand it when M puts dishes in the dishwasher somewhere other than I’d put them, and I get equally annoyed when he doesn’t put them in the dishwasher at all.  But I can ignore grime all over the kitchen floor and counters.

I suppose I’m supposed to tag people now.  This is always the hard part because almost everyone I know reads this has done it recently, and I don’t want anyone to feel obligated to do it again.  So if you want to do it, go for it.

One Response to Because You Know My Love of Lists

  1. Kristin says:

    Very flattered 🙂 Those are some really interesting facts! I’m with you on #2.

Leave a Reply

