In Need of Your Help Again

The most interesting part of BabyN’s appointment yesterday was confirming his weight: 14 1/2 pounds.  PJ hit that at 9 months.  This healthy weight gain causes us some big problems, though, and I need your help coming up with possibly creative solutions for the problem.

We’ve had BabyN in a playard in our room since we brought him home from the hospital.  It’s made midnight feedings and such much easier.  We did the same with PJ and loved it so it only made sense to do it again.  We moved PJ to his own room about this age, though.  He was sleeping through the night (when his stupid apnea monitor would let him), from about 11:00 until 7:00 or so in the morning.

M and I decided we’d work on transitioning BabyN to his crib when he started sleeping through the night reliably.  Unfortunately that hasn’t happened yet.  Well, technically he sleeps for the same eight-ish hours many nights, but those eight hours are still usually done by 4:00 in the morning.  I don’t really want to stumble out of bed and halfway across the house to retrieve him for that insanely early feeding.

To make matters worse, we’d be transitioning BabyN into the same room with PJ.  I’m already mentally prepared for the challenge we will have the first few days when they are adjusting to having each other in the room, and I know none of us will get enough sleep at first.  But while BabyN is still wanting to get up at 4:00-ish, PJ will almost certainly be awakened at that point too.  Even once he’s used to having his brother in his room with him, he’ll still have his sleep disturbed by the early feeding.

M and I are more than happy to keep BabyN in our room with us.  We’ve gotten used to having him there, and he isn’t bothered by us usually and we aren’t bothered by him at all until feeding time.  The problem is that the bassinette in the playard has a weight limit of 15 pounds.  With BabyN almost at that weight already, I can see why have that cap.  His squirming already shakes the whole thing to what looks like unsafe levels.  He most certainly needs a new sleeping situation within the next week or so, at most.

I have considered moving him down to the bottom of the playard–something we didn’t have to do for PJ until he was about a year old and could pull up on his own.  The problem there is that I’m on the short side (to put it nicely) and have trouble leaning that far over to pick him up.  I was forced to do so over Christmas (long story where the blame is totally on my in-laws for not doing something easy we asked them to do), and it was awful.  My back ached the whole time from trying to lift him out of there, and I had lots of help for non-middle-of-the-night feedings.  I really don’t want to have to do that again.

I guess we could move his crib into our room temporarily, but that’s such a nuisance.  We’d have to take it apart and put it back together both for the move into our room and again for the move back.  Totally not worth it.  I think I’d rather kill my back by leaving him in the playard or risk waking up PJ on a regular basis and deal with the resulting toddler tantrums.

Those are the only ideas I’ve come up with so far and neither is satisfactory.  Does anybody have any different solutions for us to try that are reasonably cost-effective?  And while I have you giving advice, what advice would you have on transitioning BabyN into PJ’s room in a few weeks (or months at this rate)?  I need to prepare PJ for the change as well as BabyN, and I suspect this won’t be nearly as easy as it was to move PJ into his room originally.

One Response to In Need of Your Help Again

  1. erin says:

    When Hailey could no longer fit in her bassinet(she would kick the sides and wake herself up!) we had to move her to her crib. I’m short too, 5’2″, and bending over like that was NOT an option…my back was still SO sore from the epidural(it still hurts sometimes to this day–almost 2 years later!). Hailey wasn’t near sleeping through the night yet, but we still tried putting her in her room a couple nights in her crib. I was glued to the monitor all night, I got no sleep. We moved her crib into our bedroom (ours fit through the doorway!) and she stayed there until I think 6 months old(she started sleeping through the night at 5 months). Then we just scooted her crib back into her bedroom.

    If your crib won’t fit through the doorway that would kind of suck to have to take it apart and put it back together. I guess it all depends on how long you think you’ll keep him in your room. If it was going to be a few months I’d say personally I would think it would be worth the effort. But that’s just me 🙂 Sorry I don’t have any other ideas!

Leave a Reply

