One Year Ago Yesterday

Oops.  I forgot that I really did have something worth blogging about yesterday.  Yesterday marked one year since our lives changed yet again.

It happened pretty early in the morning.  I decided to prove to M once and for all that I wasn’t pregnant, that the cramps I’d been feeling for days were really PMS cramps–never mind that I never actually got cramps before my period started.  So I took a pregnancy test, fully expecting to see “not pregnant” show up in the window, although I really hoped the “not” part wouldn’t show this time.

Sure enough, after a short wait, “pregnant” showed up.  I stared at it for a few minutes in shock, unable to wipe the grin off my face.  Then I called M, who was just as shocked as I was, despite his belief that I was pregnant all along.  He even had to leave work for the day because he was unable to focus on anything other than the fact that our lives would forever be changed.

We spent the rest of the day discussing every aspect of the impending change to our family.  That’s what I remember most–the endless talks and planning and guessing about due dates and gender.  We were so excited and at the same time terrified.  But all that led to this sweet, happy baby we have now.  I think for that reason I’ll always remember the morning of January 12, 2007.

Leave a Reply

