Talking about Talking

My suspicions were confirmed yesterday: I’m not crazy (at least not entirely).  We had our first meeting with someone from ECI, mostly to do paperwork stuff, but I noticed her watching PJ very carefully.  She agreed almost right away after listening to him talk that they were not normal speech patterns for a 2-year-old.  He definitely qualifies for the longer assessment in that area (which happens in three weeks).  That assessment determines whether he qualifies for services.  And while the woman certainly agreed he is behind in speech, he will only get help if he is a certain number of months behind (I think she said six).

I’ve been debating what I really want to happen.  I think the best scenario would have been for her to watch PJ yesterday and wonder why I’d called her.  I would rather waste her time and look foolish if it meant finding out that nothing was wrong.  But that didn’t happen, so I think the next best scenario would be having him qualify for services so that he can get help.  I don’t want to find out he’s that far behind, but it’s already been confirmed that he’s behind, so the best thing would be that he gets help so he can catch up.  I think I will be most frustrated if it turns out he’s five months behind–not enough to qualify for services but too far to be able to catch up easily on his own.

She said that it looked like PJ has a real deficiency in what she called “functional language.”  Most of what he says is “jargon,” phrases or words that he associates with certain situations that don’t really communicate much to us.  Functional language is answering questions or being able to communicate his wants and needs to us in ways other than dragging us places and throwing tantrums.  We’ve had a real issue with this lately, so I know PJ is getting frustrated with not being able to communicate.  Hopefully he will qualify for the help he needs so this problem can get resolved.  I just hate that we have to wait three whole weeks for the next step.

2 Responses to Talking about Talking

  1. chas says:

    Good luck with the upcoming appointment!!

  2. Becca says:

    I think it’s great that you noticed something, and now he is getting the help. My best friends little boy had very similar problems at that age, however he didn’t communicate at all except for screaming and grunting. He got help and is now thriving beautifully! Just a word of encouragement for you.

Leave a Reply

