Lies and Truth Revealed

Okay, so maybe my lies and truths weren’t that interesting.  It’s not like I have webbed toes to write about or anything.  But thank you to those of you that guessed.  The rest of you probably did what I’ve been doing and made your own guesses but didn’t feel comfortable writing them down.  I so hate being wrong!  Here’s your chance to find out just how well you know me after all:

1. Lie.  I had a boyfriend for one other Valentine’s Day.  We went out on a date with another couple, but that was the extent of our Valentine’s Day festivities.  The second time I had a significant other for the holiday, it was celebrated with some real bling.  (Happy anniversary of our engagement day, M!)

2. Lie.  I’ve been sort of engaged three different times.  The other two, the guys asked numerous times and I finally agreed mostly to get them to stop asking.  Neither produced a ring, so I don’t necessarily consider it a real engagement.  Unfortunately, I think both of them did.

3. Truth.  I still brag about this weekend.  I’ve rarely had fun dates, outside of a real relationship, so this was interesting.  Friday night was a banquet with some organization in college.  An ex set me up with his best friend, knowing I’d had a crush on him for a long time.  Saturday I went to coffee and a movie with another of that ex’s friends who had moved away the semester before but was back for a visit.  Sunday I went to dinner with a different ex who was trying to get back together with me.  That never happened, by the way.

4. Lie.  This one was kind of tricky, though, I’ll admit.  Most of you know the story of how M and I got together.  When I first saw him, I knew immediately that there was something special between us.  The best way I can explain it is that I knew I would love him–but I didn’t love him from that first moment.  I think it takes time to get to know someone before you can truly love them, even if your intuition tells you there will be love between the two of you eventually.

5. Truth.  I know, hard to believe, isn’t it?  We had the tickets ready to buy online but chose to wait overnight before buying them, just to give ourselves a little more time to make sure we were making the right decision.  My only hesitation was that I wanted my parents at my wedding.  We decided to invite them…which is what made us change our minds.  I didn’t like my mom’s reaction to our plan, so I chickened out to keep our relationship good.  I couldn’t stand the thought that they’d be disappointed in me.  M and I still kind of wish we’d gone through with it; we’d already made the commitment to each other, and it would have made things a lot easier with PJ’s conception.

6. Lie.  The longest relationship ever before this one was about ten months, and that was on and off.  The ex that took forever to get over was after a relationship of only five months.  My history actually made me worry about whether I was cut out for marriage, if I had it in me to stay committed for longer than a few months at a time.  I think I’ve already proven that wrong!

7. Lie.  Ha!  I was the queen of long-distance relationships in college.  I had three that I can think of off the top of my head.  They obviously didn’t last, but that didn’t keep me from trying.

8. Lie.  I wish.  Most of the time I was in love within a week or two of the start of a new relationship.  If only it had been that easy to get over each guy…

So it looks like the winner is Mrs. SSG who was able to guess one of the two truths.  If you have a great idea for your prize (other than this linky love), e-mail me and I’ll see what I can do.

2 Responses to Lies and Truth Revealed

  1. MrsSSG says:

    yay I am a winner! No prize, linky love is good for me 🙂

  2. Becca says:

    So you don’t have like 6 toes on one foot or something?? 🙂 I guessed to myself, and unfortunately for me I didn’t get ANY of them right! But I had fun reading, it’s always fun to “get to know” the people that you read.

Leave a Reply

