Lessons of a Second-Time Mother

My little baby is getting so big.  Last night, M and I took the boys for a walk (enjoying the gorgeous 70-degree weather) in the double stroller.  It was exactly the second time that sucker has gotten used.  I think we took the walk more out of guilt for not using the extravagant gift from his grandparents than anything else.  Anyway, BabyN sat in the stroller like a big boy, without his infant seat.  It was the first time he’s ever travelled anywhere facing forward (unless you count the baby carrier).  We’re also looking at starting solids sooner rather than later.  I thought after he starting sleeping through the night that I’d be ready for that, but I’m still not.  I remember how disappointed I was to realize I wasn’t solely responsible for PJ’s nutrition needs when he started solids.  I don’t want to feel that way again.  That day was the start of him spending less and less bonding time with me while breastfeeding–as it should be–and I know I’ll miss that so much more this time around, with what could easily be our last baby.  I’m so proud that BabyN is such a big boy and growing up so fast, but I know better what I’ll miss when he outgrows each stage and I’m reluctant to push him into that next stage any earlier than absolutely necessary.

Leave a Reply

