Have a Nice Trip

There’s a lot more reaction to the results yesterday that I’d like to get into, but I don’t know that I have the heart to today.  M and I discussed most of it yesterday, so at least I’ve gotten it off my chest.  He feels the same way about much of it.  Let’s just say it’s a combination of guilt, regret, and relief all rolled into one.  And we worry about this affecting our relationship with both boys, the way the focus will be forced to turn back to PJ, as it appears as though he is still the needier one, even with a baby brother around.  I’m coming to terms with it and will be fine, but it’s going to take some getting used to.  And you’re all right–eventually he will catch up and all of this will be a thing of the past.

So on to other things…we found out on Monday that a frustrating business trip M thought he’d managed to convince his boss not to send him on was happening anyway.  The big boss of the company found out and didn’t care if it was entirely irrelevant to the project M is working on.  They’re going, and it’s happening next week.  The company is dropping lots of cash on the trip, between last-minute plane tickets and hotel rooms in an expensive area of an expensive city.  M’s annoyed because it’s a huge waste of time and money.  He’d rather stay home and actually get stuff done on the project instead of fishing for one shred of help for the project that he probably won’t get.  Besides, he’d rather be close to me and not alone in a hotel room halfway across the country.

When he interviewed for the job, he was told that travel like this would be practically nonexistent.  Maybe a class in another city in the state from time to time (the one where my parents coincidentally live, so we could tag along), but very rarely more than that.  Needless to say, we’re both incredibly frustrated that that isn’t the case.  This will be his fourth trip in less than four months, all out of state by a long shot.  Some talk has come up about more trips in the relatively near future, one possibly to Japan.  I mean, that would be totally awesome, but I would be much more excited about the possibility if he hadn’t been gone so much recently.

I keep hoping a good job opportunity arises in the city where my parents live, one that M just can’t turn down.  He fights daily frustration with his job, and I can’t for the life of me figure out why he hasn’t actively looked for a new job yet.  Sure, they take pretty good care of him (other than the insurance getting ridiculously awful, which was the main reason he took this job over a different one in the first place), and the people in his department respect him and make sure he knows that, but if you still hate your job, why stay?

Anyway, sorry for the rant today.  I guess I’m more annoyed about all of this than I thought.  I’m sure everything with this newest trip will end up fine, as it always seems I worry for nothing about these things.

Leave a Reply

