Toddler Talk

I’m so excited!  PJ is talking more than ever, and I am understanding him!  Well, most of the time anyway.  This morning, I got Patrick out of bed, and he immediately told me, “Hi!”  As he walked out of his room, he told me he needed to “Say baba” (change diaper) because it was “poopy.”  It was, and I knew that before ever grabbing a clean diaper for him.  Then when he was naked, he told me he wanted a diaper “backon” (he says it like it’s one word).  A little while later, he put his boots on and headed for the back door, informing me he wanted to go “batside.”  He wanted “cookies” for breakfast but settled for “cheeyas” (Cheerios).  When he wanted bites of my cereal, he nicely asked for a “bye, peas” (bite, please).  (Boy was that one funny last night when he wanted a bite of his brother’s peas.  It wasn’t so funny to him when I gave him one.)  He didn’t want his water sippy with breakfast, so he asked for his “ju sippy.”

After breakfast, he peed in his diaper and immediately after informed me that he “wago potty.”  We’re still working on the timing there, but at least he connects peeing with the potty.  He told me, “All done,” when he was done trying and then “lalala” to remind me he got an M&M for trying.  When he pooped in his diaper a few minutes after that (yes, making it three diapers already this morning), he warned me by telling me “poopy” again.  He has also addressed his brother earlier by telling him something in baby talk followed by “Gaga,” his name for BabyN.

It’s just astounding to me that he is communicating effectively with me.  We’re having fewer tantrums because he is getting his needs taken care of (and it’s been long enough since his grandparents have been here).  The only problem is that he has also finally figured out the word “no” and is repeating it all day long.  Yes, we’ve entered that stage.  On the other hand, though, he is finally starting to answer my questions that I have persisted in asking, even when I expected a blank stare from him.

Speaking of questions, I’m hoping some of you are still planning to take me up on my offer from yesterday to ask me anything you want.  I’m desperate for good material here!  There’s only so much I can write about all of PJ’s new words, and I know you want to read even less.  I guess if our lives were more interesting, I wouldn’t have this problem, but there’s something to be said for a life that’s not overly exciting.

2 Responses to Toddler Talk

  1. MrsSSG says:

    how wonderful! what a good day for you!

  2. erin says:

    Yay PJ! He sounds like he’s doing really well!

Leave a Reply

