Aha!

You may have picked up on the fact that I’ve been a bit tired lately (as if I didn’t mention that a million times in the last post alone).  It’s been as bad as it was when I was pregnant.  I’d wake up eager to go back to sleep, regardless of how late it already was.  I’d drift off anytime I wasn’t actively doing something and was anxious for bed as soon as the boys were in bed.

Last night, I suddenly had the thought to check the label on the allergy medicine I’ve had to take since getting the dog.  Sure enough, in plain English, it said the medicine could cause drowsiness.  Now I feel like a fool for letting myself be miserable for several weeks when I didn’t have to.

I also discovered that this is not the same medicine I thought it was and that this specifically says it is not recommended when you’re breastfeeding.  Oops.  Next time I need to be more careful about what it is I’m taking and not assume that M got the exact same thing that I thought he was getting from the grocery store.  I haven’t noticed any changes in BabyN, so I don’t think it’s a huge deal that I took the medicine anyway.  And it’s not like he’s a newborn completely dependent on my milk for sustenance.  I think he’ll be fine, but I’ll be watching him carefully anyway and might mention something about it to his doctor the next time we see him.

Needless to say, I’m not taking the medicine anymore.  I’m beating myself up for not reading the label first–I ALWAYS do, except for this once.  I’m hoping I didn’t do anything that could end up harming BabyN.

And on the bright side, despite being kind of stuffed up and sneezy today, I’m feeling better than I have in several weeks.  I don’t feel like I need a nap right now.  What a novel feeling.

One Response to Aha!

  1. Chas says:

    Ugg..allergies. I am so sick right now from all the pollen in the air.

    I’m sure Baby N will be just fine. I think most of the medications put that on the label just as a precaution.

Leave a Reply

