Another Aha

This weekend we welcomed an unexpected visitor–good ole AF.  Since it had been nearly a year and a half since she showed up, it was clearly unexpected.

Fortunately, the IUD has kept it from being as awful as I would expect.  It’s been much less painful (although I am still having plenty of cramps; they’re just not severe), less heavy, and it looks like it will be shorter too.  I can handle this, even with all the false alarm spotting that can happen at any time.

In retrospect, PMS is a likely explanation for the drowsiness I’ve had recently; the medicine may have only been partly at fault.  The hormones also explain some of the grouchiness.  I’ve already been a little more stable since starting on Saturday.  M’s awfully glad about that.

In other news, M and I spent the weekend on our new hobby, tracing our genealogy.  M stumbled across this new online program, itsourtree.com, which makes it super easy to start a family tree.  He grew up knowing little to nothing about his family background, so he’s insistent that we correct that for our own family.  He’s done lots of research online and found many generations back in his family, on both parents’ sides. 

My grandmother has done tons of research on her family, so I thought it would be easy to fill in my family’s side.  Not so much.  I even have a whole file of genealogy information on both sides of my family, and I can’t find it anywhere.  I’m kind of disappointed because I’m missing out on so much information by having lost that file.  Fortunately I’ve still found lots of info online.  I even found one tree that someone else put together that supposedly traces one line all the way back to Adam and Eve.  Although I doubt the accuracy of some of the older entries, their sources for the more recent ones appear valid.

So far, I’ve determined that I’m pretty solidly American.  One line has been traced back to the Mayflower to several different passengers and another back to full-blooded Cherokees.  The more recent immigrants so far are Germans in the early 1700s.  I suspect there are some Italians more recent than that, but I can’t prove that.

It’s astounding how much of this information you can find online, without leaving your computer or even spending a dime.  If this continues to be a hobby for M and me, we may invest some in it to find more and better information, but we’re still having plenty of fun doing this the amateur, cheap way.

4 Responses to Another Aha

  1. Sarah says:

    I am very familiar with the woe’s of starting…hope you are feeling all the way normal here soon!

    The family tree idea is so smart! My husband knows a lot about his family, but Iknow very little. Maybe we will give this a try as well!

  2. Chas says:

    I also want to trace my genealogy….so thanks for the link (though it’s itsOURtree.com).

  3. Kayce says:

    Oops, Chas is right…my bad. It’s now fixed in the post.

  4. erin says:

    I’ve always wanted to do this…D’s grandparents are really into this sort of thing, taking trips to other states to research their genealogy, but I can never find much on my family. I also can never find any info online w/out the sites wanting me to pay for it! What sites have you used? I’ll have to checkout the website you mentioned in your post!

Leave a Reply

