I Sound Girly

My birthday presents started coming in this past weekend already.  M got notice of his bonus at work on Friday and decided that in celebration, we would really splurge on me this year (which we end up doing every year).  While looking at other things at Target on Saturday, he encouraged me to browse through their clothes.  We ended up with three cute shirts for $35.  That’s my kind of shopping.

Then Sunday, M was still in a shopping mood, so we went to the nearby outlet-ish mall.  There are some things about this mall I don’t love, namely that they don’t have as many popular stores, but you can stumble across some great finds if you know where to look.  We did.  At the outlet of a pretty classy normal mall store, we found three more shirts and a pair of capri pants, all for $50.  I get to wear new clothes all week now!

(By the way, do you know how awesome it is to find capri pants that fit?  Most capri pants fit like normal pants on my itty-bitty body.)

I would be happy with this much for my birthday, too, but M says it’s not over yet.  He’s looking into other ways to persuade me to go shopping for more.  When we’re at my parents’ for part of our vacation in a month, he may send me off to the mall with my mom.  Hey, I’ll take the break from the kids, even if we don’t find any clothes!

I’ve decided on three more necessities, though.  I am a total sucker for cute, summery dresses and can barely restrain myself from overbuying these since I only get to wear them once a week to church.  But I could use ONE new dress, one that I could breastfeed while wearing.  I’ve been wearing the same blouse and skirt to church lately in case BabyN decided he was hungry halfway through the service.  Has anybody seen any styles lately that could let me nurse while wearing?

And I need a new bathing suit.  M and I are sneaking away one night of our vacation to a nice B&B, the one where we spent our honeymoon, and I know I’ll want to go swimming while we’re there.  But I haven’t bought a new suit since I was in my single and fit days.  I no longer have six-pack abs and can’t pull off a skimpy bikini.  I definitely need something new.

Oh, and shoes.  M insisted on getting me sturdier slip-on shoes when I was pregnant with PJ (clumsy me kept stepping out of my flip-flops), and I’ve been wearing them ever since.  Seriously, the only time I wear other shoes is for church, and then I trade off between two or three different pairs.  I’d love to find a few new pairs of cute sandals.  Unfortunately, I also have fit issues with my feet–they’re TINY–and can only find shoes to fit at Payless.  I need to persuade M to go there with me to look for something cute.  He’s too set on finding me something practical for walking long distances.  Sure I could probably use some, but they wouldn’t get worn nearly as often as cute shoes I could wear every day.

For someone who swears to dislike shopping, I sure sound like a shopaholic, don’t I?  I guess I’m just in the mood for it right now.  Besides, it’s fun to feel cute while wearing new clothes.  It’s a much-needed boost to my self-esteem.

3 Responses to I Sound Girly

  1. Erica says:

    I LOVE SKIRTINIS.I LIKE THE FACT THAT MY THIGHS ARECOVERED BY THE CUTE SKIRT.FOR THE TOP YOU CAN GO WITH A TANKINI.THEY LOOK CUTE TOGETHER AND COVER YOUR STOMACHE.I USUALLY WEAR A HALTER TOP THOUGH,BUT JUST DEOENDS ON HOW COVERED YOU WANT TO BE..VICTORIA SECRETS HAS CUTE SUITS.

  2. sugarandice says:

    How about a tankini? My mom wears them, and they are very flattering on her. You can find them everywhere.

    I don’t know about the shoes. My feet aren’t huge, but they aren’t so tiny that I have trouble finding ones that fit.

  3. erin says:

    First off I think it’s awesome that you’re getting a shopping spree for your birthday!!!And yay for capris for short people! I found a pair at American Eagle last summer in a grey color that actually looked like capris on me and liked them so much I bought them in khaki too…that’s usually what I do…if I find a piece of clothing that actually fits *gasp!!* I buy it in every color they make. Anyway I’m glad you were able to find some clothes! I went to Kohl’s yesterday and got really stressed trying on at least 10 different outfits and all I came away with was one clearanced 7$ dress. So I’m glad you’re having better luck than me! As far as a swimsuit goes, I’d try a tankini…one that’s a little looser around the belly/waist area. They’re really cute and they’d hide the belly! I’m not a good person to suggest shoes…I have no idea what shoes go w/ what. I have a million pairs of flips for the summer and clogs for the winter. I own like 1 pair of black sandals. I’m so not adventurous when it comes to shoes.

Leave a Reply

