Apparently Murphy Won

I have been in the habit of DVRing my guilty pleasure of the year, American Idol, out of courtesy to M.  I usually watch Tuesday night’s show during the day on Wednesday and fast-forward through the results show before bed on Wednesday night.

So I was doing my usual perusal of the final results show tonight, anxious to find out who had won.  I’d deliberately avoided reading any news about the show during all my Internet time tonight so that I could see it “live” instead.

I make it all the way to the end of the recording.  Ryan says, “And the winner…of American Idol…2008 is…”

And my recording ended.  Stupid cable company that can’t quite record to the very end of a show.

I groaned loudly so that M could come see what had happened and laugh at the irony of the situation with me.  Then I sighed and pulled out the computer so that I could read the news I’d been avoiding all along.

What would I do without the Internet?

By the way, I am quite satisfied with the results.  I won’t ruin it for anyone else, but I think the right man won.  And in a way, I’m kind of glad I didn’t have to see the other David’s heart broken.

3 Responses to Apparently Murphy Won

  1. Becca says:

    I watched it live, but when I went back to watch it on my DVR, it did the exact same thing!! Made me so mad!

  2. Sarah says:

    I watched it live and really the other David was okay. He seemed thrilled to just be in the top two, and really happy for the winning David!

    AI is also my guilty pleasure, so I totally feel your pain…

  3. Jessica says:

    We went to a friends house after church & watched it on DVR. Same thing!!! My friend thought that my happen so she dvr’d the next show, too. Problem is, it picked up with the two guys hugging so it took us awhile to figure out who won!

    I thought the same thing about going online, thank goodness it’s all there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

