Better Than a Gang Sign

Last night as we went through our favorite part of the evening–bedtime–PJ did something he’s never done before.  He usually runs into the bedroom elated that it’s bedtime.  He usually happily wishes his brother a good night before climbing into bed himself.  He usually chatters about “sleep tight” and “good night” and “see you in a little while” as we go through the routine of settling him and BabyN into bed.

But last night when Daddy told him, “I love you” and signed it to him, like we have done every single night and naptime since he was born, PJ did it back.

He very clearly told both of us, “I love you,” and then he carefully formed his hands–both of them–into the sign for “I love you.”

I don’t know how I made it out of the room before collapsing under the wonder of it all.

**By the way, I know this has been just another mommy blog lately.  I promise it won’t always be that way.  I just haven’t felt like writing about what is up with ME.  Maybe I’ll feel up to it again in a few days.  Or not.  I’m just playing it by ear right now.

2 Responses to Better Than a Gang Sign

  1. Chas says:

    I saw your earlier post and now I see that it’s gone, so I won’t comment with specifics, but I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Amelia does that too! I love it.

Leave a Reply

