Nope, No Babies Here

I think BabyN said the dog’s name yesterday.  We were playing with her, and I was telling him to say her name.  And he did.  It sounded almost exactly like how PJ says it.

I know that at only nine months, that sounds pretty ridiculous for him to say an actual word and understand what he’s saying, but I swear that’s what happened.

It appears as though BabyN does not currently have any language delays like his big brother.  Although even PJ’s delays aren’t as obvious these days.  I still only understand a little more than half of what he’s saying, but he’s definitely saying something with the rest of his babblings.  One of these days I’ll even be able to interpret them.

PJ is speaking in whole sentences or longer phrases most of the time.  It still astounds me to hear him tell me, “I wanna go bye-bye” or “Go get Gaga?” or “PJ hungry.”  His vocabulary is too large to count any longer, and he seems to learn new words daily.  He may say a word once or twice one day and then appear to forget it, only to bring it out of nowhere months later.

Lately PJ has also been showing me just how much attention he’s been paying to my lessons on the letters, numbers, colors, and shapes.  He can identify at least a few of each and will usually do so at the most random times.  For example, the other day he was coloring while his ECI teacher was here, and he not only repeated colors for her but specifically asked for the black marker one time.  He also correctly counted five apples on a TV show this morning.  He didn’t count up to five, but when they asked how many apples there were, he hesitated for a second and then loudly proclaimed, “Fi!”  Maybe it’s another coincidence, but I don’t think so.

Suddenly I’m forced to realize that I really don’t have a baby anymore.  My big baby is counting, naming colors and letters, and talking in full sentences.  My little baby is about to crawl and is trying to talk just like his big brother.  I love the new stages they’re entering even while I miss the stages they’ve already passed through.

But I think I’m going to enjoy the sleep that comes with having bigger kids for a while before lamenting the loss of my sweet little babies.

Oh, and speaking of the fact that I really don’t have a baby any longer, it might be about time to retire BabyN’s nickname, one that has stuck since he was in my belly.  Does anybody have any creative suggestions for names I can use instead of BabyN on the blog to continue hiding his anonymity?  I don’t have one that just jumps out at me, so I’m interested to see what all of you can come up with.

One Response to Nope, No Babies Here

  1. erin says:

    BabyN very well could have said the dog’s name…Hailey started talking before she was 9 months old. Saying words here and there, and she knew what they meant too. Some babies are just early talkers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

