Change of Heart

July 9, 2008

Ha, I told you that break probably wouldn’t last long.  I don’t know that I’m back for good or on as regular a schedule as I’ve kept up until now, but things have certainly changed around here since Monday, things that I can’t just leave unsaid.

In the course of a couple of hours yesterday, I was asked for my photography expertise and then told I was a writer.  I don’t think it was mere flattery either, which I find outright surprising.  I’m a lucky photographer, which means I have a decent camera and take enough pictures that eventually I capture some awesome ones now and then.  Good editing makes me look a lot better than I am.  Yet even after explaining this to my friend, I was still asked to take pseudo-professional pictures of her little girl for her first birthday.  Yikes!  I hope they ended up liking them as much as they said they did.

The friend is a fellow blogger as well, so we got to talking about blogging at one point yesterday.  She mentioned how difficult it was for her to blog because she didn’t feel like she was a writer like I am.  I wanted to laugh at her.  I’m no writer!  I can convey my thoughts reasonably well most of the time, but I have not mastered the craft of writing by any means.  I don’t know where she gets the idea I’m a writer; she must not read much if she thinks that.

Still, I was flattered.  And oddly enough, that flattery pointed out to me where my passions do lie.  (Remember that post from a week or so ago?)  I might get frustrated with my writing from time to time because it’s not nearly as mature or interesting as I’d like it to be, but in between those frustrated moments I actually enjoy attempting to write.  And I love, love love taking pictures.  I love sifting through the moments I have captured and editing them until they look really special, not like a sorry attempt from an amateur.  I know I don’t have the artistic eye to do anything professional with it, not like my brothers, but that doesn’t mean I don’t love trying.

Perhaps yesterday was motivation to actually seriously work on both hobbies, to get myself more comfortable with both writing and photography and ignore my pathetic amateurish attempts at both until the practice has turned my passion into skill as well.

On a totally unrelated note, we also got PJ signed up for MDO yesterday.  It’s official now, now that they have our money holding his spot.  Maybe I’ll have more on this later, in another separate post.

And PJ’s ECI teacher wonders whether we’ll need to continue in the ECI program after this month.  He has his six-month evaluation on the 31st, and she thinks by then he will have made enough progress that we may decide not to continue with the special visits anymore.  I know he still isn’t nearly caught up, but he’s talking much, much better than he was six months ago.  Hmmm, maybe I should do a whole post on PJ in the near future.

Oh, and be praying for Erica today.  She’s having another MRI to find out whether her cancer is back.  No cancer, no cancer, no cancer…

