Following Up

By some miracle, I seem to have avoided a full-blown case of mastitis.  After posting that on Saturday, the very next time BabyN ate, he sucked the clog right out.  It was just tender for a little while afterwards, and now it’s fine.  And Jessica, I’d heard the cabbage thing before, but since I’d never tried it, I’d forgotten about it.  If I have the boob issues again, I’ll definitely have to try it.

We’ve also been working with PJ on keeping the sheets on his bed, but it’s still not happening.  I’m struggling between resolve to stick to my word about refusing to give him any of his comforts for bed and feeling too mean about it.  I can’t decide whether this is a battle worth fighting.  M assures me that it is; we’re both sick of making his bed twice a day every day.  If he knows better–and he does–then he should be able to exert at least that little bit of self-control.

I just feel like I’m bordering on child abuse by making sleep on a bare mattress with no blankets or anything (not that he needs them in this heat).  We relented several times this weekend and gave him back some of his confiscated comforts, although not all of them, and I doubt it was a good decision.  I wish I could find a compromise I felt comfortable with, something harsh enough to teach him a lesson but that doesn’t make me feel heartless.

By the way, tomorrow BabyN turns ten months.  I think it’s high time to retire his nickname I’m using here, since he’s only barely a baby anymore.  I’m having a creative brain fart as to good nicknames to replace BabyN, though, so I’m hoping I can appeal to you guys for some help in the creative department.  Do you have any suggestions for something new and more mature I can call him here?  All suggestions are welcome, and the odds are good that I’ll end up choosing from them, since I have no ideas of my own at the moment.

Leave a Reply

