Old Friends

July 22, 2008

I can’t believe I forgot to write about the biggest event of the weekend, the one even bigger than having to break a doorknob to get PJ out of our locked room.

On Friday night, a friend from high school came over to visit.  She and I had met up again through my.space.  We e-mailed a few times to do a basic catch-up, where she learned that I live on the opposite side of town from her.  After that, we just kind of sat on each other’s friends lists but didn’t communicate.

Last week, I suddenly got a message from her.  She wanted to let me know that her sister was moving to our end of town and she would be helping them move.  Could we get together in the downtime during the weekend?

I was hesitant at first.  We were okay friends in high school, but not best friends, and we hadn’t seen each other in something like ten years.  Besides there’s this little bit of weirdness with her because she briefly dated my older brother and was much more upset than he was when it didn’t work out.  Now he’s happily married with a kid and a dog and she’s still single.  I knew that would be an awkward topic and wasn’t sure how to handle it if we ended up hanging out.

Then I found out just how close her sister was moving.  It’s literally no more than two miles away.  I would have felt rotten to have an old friend less than two miles away and not visit with her.

When Friday morning dawned, however, I woke up with a migraine that just kept getting worse as the day progressed.  My tummy was very upset by it all as well.  I didn’t get to shower all day between the migraine and waiting for the cable guy.  When she called to say she had some free time, I was overwhelmed with everything going on and still suffering from the headache.  I was ready to back out; I didn’t feel good and was embarrassed by the unkempt state of our house.

But I felt bad for her.  She was sitting in her sister’s empty house waiting for her to show up with the moving van.  At the time, they hadn’t even left the old place yet and it was three hours away.  That was a lot of lonely, boring time.  So I decided to see if I could get a shower and if that would help me feel better.

Oddly enough, it worked.  My head was better enough that I could think about socializing again, and by the end of the evening it was gone completely.

It turned out to be a really fun evening.  It was neat to see how the friend had matured over the last ten years.  I was reminded why we were friends in the first place, and if anything, we are only more likely to be friends now.  She was also really good with both M and the boys.  Considering what different kinds of people appeal to each, that’s quite a feat.  I was quite impressed with the way everyone fell in love with her.

Now I’m looking forward to the next time she comes over here to visit her sister.  With any luck, she will be able to carve out some time to spend with us too.  I’m looking forward to renewing this ten-year-old friendship.

