Nursing, and Not the Medical Kind

Thanks for the suggestions on new names for BabyN.  I’ve been considering using his initials like I do with PJ, but NR doesn’t have the same ring to it.  I’m looking into something that conveys a little of his personality.  Not easy but better than a movie rating. 🙂  I’ll let you know if I come up with something.  In the meantime, keep the suggestions coming!

We didn’t do much for his birthday.  Obviously the cake I labored over came out pretty well.  Okay, so it was out of a box and the frosting was from a can, but I’m the kind of cook that can even mess that up.  I was pretty happy with how it came out, and all my boys seemed to enjoy it.  PJ’s compliment was certainly the best, though: “Mmm, birfday cake good!”  I think it’s safe to say he gets the whole birthday thing now, even when it’s not his.  And does it really matter whose birthday it is when you get cake?

I am glad to say that BabyN is now over a year old and still nursing.  In the early days of nursing PJ, I was surprised that I made it a full two weeks and then six weeks of it.  It wasn’t easy at all.  I think that’s why once we found our groove, I was reluctant to give up when he hit a year old.  I kept making excuses to continue, even though I knew a lot of people thought it was weird to nurse much past a year.  I finally threw in the towl and weaned him when his adjusted age was a year.  Good timing, too, since I found out I was pregnant three days later.  Still, I feel like I weaned him because of pressure from others, not because we were both ready.

I’m not caving to that (probably imagined) pressure this time around.  As much as I would love to have my body back to myself, I’m not in any hurry to wean BabyN yet.  He’s still nursing three to five times a day.  It’s the way to comfort him back to sleep when he wakes up in the middle of the night.  It’s the only way he takes fluids right now since all my work getting him to take a sippy or regular cup isn’t working yet.

It’s also one of the only times I can get him to stay still and cuddle with me.  As plans for a third are as of yet non-existent and could remain that way, I want to cherish every minute I get to hold and snuggle with my baby boy, even when he is so quickly growing into a little boy.  He seems to love those snuggle times as well, so I’m not about to push him into giving them up yet.

Right now my plan is to follow his lead.  If he acts like he’s ready to move past the breastfeeding days–and will drink from a cup of some sort–then I’ll start working on weaning.  I may give up another few months from now and slowly wean him myself, but I don’t think that’s likely.  I’ve already made my first goal of nursing for a year, so now I’m headed for my secondary goal of fifteen months.  It doesn’t matter as much to me whether or not we make it there, but it would be nice.  Either way, I think I’ll probably cut him off at eighteen months if we make it that far.  Then again, I may change my mind by then.  I hope not, though; fifteen months is plenty long enough already.  Still, I’m just playing it by ear now.

Leave a Reply

