Still Talking about Talking

We had PJ’s full special ed evaluation this morning.  It was scheduled to happen a week or so ago, but some wind or hurricane or something closed all the schools down for a week which obviously delayed our appointment.

It went relatively well.  BabyN (NR? LilN?) was in his typical chipper mood, which helped matters considerably.  After a while, though, we were asked to leave, but very nicely.  The problem was that they were trying to record PJ talking to analyze more later, but BabyN kept cooing and banging on the table, making it more difficult to pick out PJ’s voice on the recording.  I get the feeling the one lady was frustrated I had the baby with me again, but it’s not like I had anything else to do with him, especially when I only found out about the new appointment time yesterday.

PJ was–well, PJ.  He was extremely cooperative–when he wanted to be.  The diagnostician used the same words I’ve heard before in reference to him: He “had his own agenda.”  I suspect this is going to make determining his eligibility for the program difficult.  It’s possible he has deficits in the areas he did not cooperate, but there’s no way to know that for sure because of his lack of cooperation.

M and I have come to agreement that he’s probably the most special ed GT student ever.  He behaves much like a gifted/talented kid would, so focused on excelling in their best areas that they tune out everything else going on around them.  These are kids that often don’t care to do anything they feel is beneath them and will do only what they feel is worthy of their time.  That’s exactly what PJ does, if I can guess at his motivation.  The talking may or may not be a symptom of this.

I’m curious to see what they decide to do about PJ.  I got the feeling from their reactions after the evaluation that they were kind of confused.  He doesn’t fit neatly into any box, so it’s going to take a little more analysis and observation to make any decisions.

Honestly, I’m not sure what I want the result to be.  As much as I don’t want him to have the special ed label, I want him to get the help he needs.  But I don’t know that they will be able to provide the help he needs, if he even truly needs any.  I guess this is the best attitude to have, so that I’m not disappointed with whatever they decide.

Leave a Reply

