Color-Blind Toddler

The other day after PJ got home from school, I sat with him on the couch as he sucked down some juice and jabbered on about school.  I only understood about half of what he was saying, but after a few minutes I started picking up names of some of his school friends, names I had only seen on the class list up until then.  PJ was acting like he was talking to Austin and Neil and Noah and some other little boys in his class.

Then out of nowhere, he got this goofy grin on his face and said, “Carina?” and followed it up with some sentence I didn’t understand.  He continued talking about Carina for some time, always with that silly smile.  Carina was the only girl’s name he mentioned, even when I tried to prompt him with some of the other girls’ names I had seen on the list.  I know he’s only three (-ish), but he seems to have something resembling a crush on Carina.

When I went to pick him up from school yesterday, I was the only parent there at the time and had a few minutes to talk to his teacher (who adores him, by the way).  I just had to ask her who Carina was.  Considering how little he still talks at school, she was surprised to hear that he talks about her at home.

Then she pointed her out.  In the midst of all these precious blonde-haired, blue-eyed pixie girls was one lone Hispanic girl.  That was Carina.

I was a little embarrassed at my own bias then.  I had been picturing one of those blonde-haired, blue-eyed girls to be Carina.  Of course my own blonde-haired, blue-eyed boy would choose one of these girls for his crush.  It was only natural, right?

It turns out that I am exceedingly proud of my little boy.  It takes the completely unbiased innocence of a three-year-old to teach me what it is to be color-blind.  Carina is truly a beautiful little girl, and he has every reason to look at her with that twinkle in his eye.  It shouldn’t matter that her hair and eyes are a different color from his and almost every other child in that class; in fact, that may be what he finds so fascinating.

On a side note, I also discovered from his teacher that he plays most with a kid named Sam.  Sam is the oldest-looking kid in the class and seemed to act more mature than the other kids, from the few seconds I saw him anyway.  Good for PJ to find the kid who acts more grown-up, more like PJ’s own age, not the age he looks.

I loved getting that glimpse into what he’s like at school, getting to see the kid he chooses to be friends with.  It gives me a better idea of what kind of kid he’s going to grow into, more than just the side I get to see at home.

Oh, and on a totally unrelated note…the school is having a “Circus Day” instead of a Halloween party.  I’m not terribly surprised at their attempt at replacing Halloween with a similar, but more innocent, celebration.  The kids are allowed to wear costumes that day, as long as they are circus-themed.  That nixes my idea of letting PJ be a dinosaur (you ever seen one in a circus?), so I’m back to square one.  I’d like to find costumes that coordinate for the boys too.  You may remember last year BabyN was an elephant and PJ was a peanut.  THAT would have been awesome for the circus theme.  Anyway, I’m open to ideas today.  I’ll be doing some online research this weekend to get ideas too, but it’s always nice to get back-up from you guys as to what makes a good costume.

3 Responses to Color-Blind Toddler

  1. mrsssg says:

    it takes a lot of guts to admit that is what you were thinking at the time – everyone does that no one admits it. well most everyone but we all h ave our moments. good for you. !!

  2. erin says:

    Darn, the elephant and peanut would have been perfect! I’ll have to try to think of some suggestions, my mind’s drawing a blank at the moment…I can’t suggest clown for one costume because I’m scared of clowns! I’ll let you know if I come up with any ideas! Good luck!

  3. Jessica says:

    How sweet of PJ!

    Too bad the peanut/elephant thing doesn’t still fit, that’s would’ve been great for the circus theme!

Leave a Reply

