Dutiful Mommy Blogging

I think I need to start writing down the funnier things PJ says.  Yesterday was a drizzly day in the morning, so when I was picking him up from MDO, he told me I needed to “turn the rain off.”  I wasn’t even sure he understood rain; it had been long enough since we’d had any.

Another funny one from a few weeks ago happened when he was “helping” me change Scooter’s diaper.  He had to inform me that “Scooter’s p*nis is bwoken.”  It wasn’t, but he has such a fixation on things being broken these days that he’ll call anything broken if it doesn’t do exactly what he thinks it should do.

Scooter also made us laugh at something he said for the first time yesterday.  He’s been saying “all gone” often, sometimes even in the right context.  I think he was trying to tell me he was all done sleeping (he often mistakes “all done” and “all gone”) when I was doing his after-nap diaper change.  Of course, the “all” part of “all gone” came out sounding a little like a scream at first, it was that loud.  I wish I had a recording of it; it was the funniest thing, that scream-like singsong “all gone.”  M heard it from the other room and cracked up along with me.

It was nice to have that funny moment yesterday because so much of the day was spent frustrated with his screaming.  He wasn’t sleeping well at all and was overtired from not sleeping enough at night and taking incredibly short naps.  He would seem happy for the first half an hour or so after waking up from a nap, but it wouldn’t last and he’d collapse into screams shortly after.  I’m still going to blame it on teething.  On the bright side, he slept much better last night and seems to be in a better mood today.

Leave a Reply

