Murphy’s Law at Work

I swear the universe must be conspiring against me in my efforts to lose weight.  First I work out for almost a month without losing a single pound except the three I gained during that time period.  Then just as I start to feel good about my workout and diet program, certain I am on the cusp of true weight loss, I contract the plague.  After eight days of being certain I’m on the verge of death–or at least pneumonia–I finally started to pull out of it yesterday.  I had sudden bursts of energy that took me off guard and spurred me into motion doing all the projects I’d avoided for the last week.

Unfortunately, in the course of working on one of these projects, I stubbed my toe on the corner of our guest bed, the bed I used for the five years between college and marriage.  Yes, the bed I should be so familiar with that I would never stumble over.  Normally a stubbed toe wouldn’t be a big deal; I’d whine about it for a few minutes, certain I’d broken it, and then move on with life forgetting I’d ever hurt it.  But not this time.  Nope, a full day later, it still hurts like the dickens.  It’s still swollen, looks funny, and is discolored.  Dang it all, I think I really did break it this time.  I need to talk with M about what exactly we need to do to take care of this, but it’s becoming more and more obvious that it’s not just going to go away on its own.

In the meantime, this burst of energy that I thought was going to launch me right back into my intense workouts will have to be directed elsewhere, into some activity I can do without standing on my feet.  Because I’m suspecting that all that jumping on my toes that my workout DVD insists upon might just leave me crying in pain.

Oh, and to add to my clumsiness, last night at the grocery store, I managed to smack my mouth into the edge of the buggy as I was placing something on the bottom rack.  M claims it was probably due to an imbalance from favoring my sore toe, but I think he might have just been trying to make me less embarrassed about it all.  Here’s hoping today isn’t nearly as clumsy as yesterday.

One Response to Murphy’s Law at Work

  1. lilmomma says:

    I am an expert on broken toes..all they do is an xray confirm it and tape it to the other toe..you can do that at home..they also gave me a special shoe and some pills…good luck those suckers hurtI broke mine so bad it was flat with the side of my foot..

Leave a Reply

