Itchy and Scratchy

I have a mommying question for all of you mommies who still bother to read.  Lately, Scooter has been scratching himself a lot.  It’s always been a problem with him, but in the past it was more just when he was getting his diaper changed; I think he liked the feeling of his short nails on his normally-covered diaper area.  As long as I kept his nails short, it wasn’t a problem (well, when he wasn’t scratching poopy areas).

But the last week or so, it has felt more like spring, with temperatures nearing 80 degrees.  I’ve pulled out spring wardrobes with short sleeves, and Scooter doesn’t seem to know what to do with all that exposed arm.  Every time I get him up from a nap or in the morning, he has new scratches on his arms.  One this morning was scabbed over; it had clearly bled a bit overnight.

I’ve been doing some google research, but all I can find are references to eczema, which he most definitely does not have, and baby mittens to keep from scratching (those certainly wouldn’t work with a nearly 18-month-old).  Our weather has been drier than usual lately; is there any chance that could make his arms itchy?  And how would I help it if that’s the problem?  I’m being even more diligent about keeping his nails short, but I don’t think that is going to be enough to keep him from hurting himself.  If I can’t find a solution to the root problem, I might have to keep him in long sleeves for the time being, which does not sound fun as the temperatures keep gettiing warmer.

Has anyone else had this problem?  Do you have any suggestions?

2 Responses to Itchy and Scratchy

  1. lilmomma says:

    Aveeno baby products are pretty good…you can also use aquaphor on the places its like a salve and we have used it on both our boys for different things..you havent changed bath stuff or laundry det. have you because it could be an allergy..

  2. erica says:

    Sounds like it could be the dry air making him itch; I use Keri Lotion or DermaVeen lotion on my 3yr old when she starts itching crazily. Both work extremely well, takes about 5mins for the itchies to disappear and both lotions are designed for sensitive (and/or very dry) skin.

Leave a Reply

